This post contains affiliate links, See our disclaimer for more information.

9 Best EcoSmart Tankless Water Heater Reviews and Buying Guide 2020

ecosmart tankless water heater reviews

Having a proper heater in your home is always an advantage. Such was for me when I tried to use the EcoSmart hot water heaters available. I’ll be honest, ever since I have tried out an EcoSmart water heater as my friend suggested, I was much obsessed with the brand.

Being a popular brand from all over the world, it is obvious that EcoSmart has numerous products available on the market today. So choosing the best one out of them is always a difficult task in hand.

But after coming up with hours of research and going through all the products, I have come up with a list of the Top 9 EcoSmart Tankless Water Heater Reviews available in the market today. To know more about the buying guide and the products, you can follow this review more.

Preview
Editor's Choice
Ecosmart ECO 18 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 18 KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
Inbuilt Pressure Relief Valve
EcoSmart ECO 27 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 27 KW at 240 Volts, 112.5 Amps with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
Best for Draining
Ecosmart ECO 36 36kw 240V Electric Tankless Water Heater
Title
Ecosmart ECO 18 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 18 KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
EcoSmart ECO 27 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 27 KW at 240 Volts, 112.5 Amps with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
Ecosmart ECO 36 36kw 240V Electric Tankless Water Heater
Ratings
Reviews
2,132 Reviews
2,132 Reviews
176 Reviews
Price
$360.90
$474.44
$502.05
Prime Benefits
Editor's Choice
Preview
Ecosmart ECO 18 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 18 KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
Title
Ecosmart ECO 18 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 18 KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
Ratings
Reviews
2,132 Reviews
Price
$360.90
Prime Benefits
More Information
Inbuilt Pressure Relief Valve
Preview
EcoSmart ECO 27 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 27 KW at 240 Volts, 112.5 Amps with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
Title
EcoSmart ECO 27 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 27 KW at 240 Volts, 112.5 Amps with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
Ratings
Reviews
2,132 Reviews
Price
$474.44
Prime Benefits
More Information
Best for Draining
Preview
Ecosmart ECO 36 36kw 240V Electric Tankless Water Heater
Title
Ecosmart ECO 36 36kw 240V Electric Tankless Water Heater
Ratings
Reviews
176 Reviews
Price
$502.05
Prime Benefits
More Information

Last update on 2020-08-08 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

1. EcoSmart ECO 18 Electric Tankless Water Heater

While reviewing the product, I found that the EcoSmart ECO 18 Tankless Water Heater has a highly durable interior. The internal components are properly coated which gives long life to the heater.

Apart from this, I found that the product has a simple installation and is easy to use. The controls are smooth and it operates easily. So even if you have minimum knowledge, you will be able to run the product.

The one thing that I liked the most about the product is the instant heating technology. It only heats when the heater senses a flow. So you will end up saving 60% of the electricity bills.

Moreover, the product includes digital temperature control. So you can adjust the thermostat with a 1-degree change in the temperature as per your needs.

Specifications

Flow Rate – 1.5 GPM
Dimensions: 3.62 x 14 x 17 inches
Weight: 14 pounds
Warranty: Limited Lifetime

Pros

Compact, durable, stylish
99.8% energy efficient
Simple installation

Cons

Price is high

Bottom Line

The EcoSmart ECO 18 Tankless Water Heater is a complete professional buy for your home. If you have multiple faucets, this is the one for you.

Sale
Ecosmart ECO 18 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 18 KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
2,132 Reviews

Last update on 2020-08-08 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

2. EcoSmart ECO 27 Electric Tankless Water Heater

The EcoSmart ECO 27 Tankless Water Heater includes an activation flow of 0.3 GPM. This allows the heater to instantly produce hot water right from the moment it is turned on.

The one thing that I liked about the product is the presence of copper and stainless components. This is an effective design by the manufacturer to provide the long durability of the product.

Apart from this, I found that the EcoSmart 27 Electric Tankless Water Heater has a decent flow rate. It only heats up when the product senses water flow. Since there is no time delay, you can expect 50% energy savings.

Furthermore, you can also get self-modulating technology with the product. This allows the heater to understand when the requirement of hot water is more. So it allows you to get proper hot water options to all the faucets.

Specifications

Flow Rate – 0.3 GPM
Dimensions: 3.62 x 17 x 17 inches
Weight: 11 pounds
Warranty: Limited Lifetime

Pros

Endless hot water
Save up to 50% in water heating costs
Compact design

Cons

Price is high

Bottom Line

If you want a Tankless Water Heater that will have low electricity consumption, the EcoSmart ECO 27 Tankless Water Heater is the right product for you.

Sale
EcoSmart ECO 27 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 27 KW at 240 Volts, 112.5 Amps with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
2,132 Reviews
EcoSmart ECO 27 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 27 KW at 240 Volts, 112.5 Amps with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
  • Savings of up to 50% on water heating costs. Dimensions :17H x 17W x 3.625D inches ;Pipes fittings :3/4 inch NPT
  • Digital temperature control in 1-degree increments allows control of hot water; Activation Flow: 0.3 GPM

Last update on 2020-08-08 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

3. EcoSmart ECO 36 Electric Tankless Water Heater

While reviewing the product, the one thing that I liked the most about the EcoSmart ECO 36 Tankless Water Heater is the option of digital output temperature. So I could easily adjust the thermostat.

Apart from this, I found that the product has a compact size of 17 x 19 x 3.8 inches. Though it is slightly heavier than others, it is never a problem to install the product.

The one thing I liked the most about the product is the easy pipe fittings. All the installation requirements are of standard size. So it took me just 10 minutes to complete the installation.

Furthermore, the EcoSmart ECO 36 Electric Tankless Water Heater includes a 99.8% energy efficiency rating. So even if you run the product for long hours, it will save up electricity costs.

Specifications

Flow Rate – 0.3 GPM
Dimensions: 17 x 19 x 3.8 inches
Weight: 18.35 pounds
Warranty: Limited Lifetime

Pros

Digital output temperature
99.8-percent energy efficient
Easy pipe fittings

Cons

It is heavy

Bottom Line

If you are looking for a compact water heater to save up space, the EcoSmart ECO 36 Tankless Water Heater is the right choice for you.

Sale
Ecosmart ECO 36 36kw 240V Electric Tankless Water Heater
176 Reviews
Ecosmart ECO 36 36kw 240V Electric Tankless Water Heater
  • Sleek and compact design with digital output temperature display
  • ECOSMART tankless water heaters are 99.8-percent energy efficient

Last update on 2020-08-04 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

4. EcoSmart ECO 11 Electric Tankless Water Heater

The one thing that I liked the most about the product is the compact storage and great design. It is very small in size and saves up more space. So if your bathroom is not large, it can be a good buy.

Apart from this, the EcoSmart ECO 11 Tankless Water Heater includes a self-modulating technology. Because of this technology, it can save up the electricity bills and provide you savings.

Furthermore, the product includes a limited lifetime warranty. So you can always expect to get good components with the ECO 11 EcoSmart Electric Tankless Water Heater. Considering the budget, it seemed fair.

But the one thing that impressed me the most is the wall-mounted design. Since it is only 6.5 pounds in weight, it became easier to lift the product and install it.

Specifications

Flow Rate – 1.5 GPM
Dimensions: 3.8 x 8 x 11.5 inches
Weight: 6.5 pounds
Warranty: Limited Lifetime

Pros

Easily replaceable elements
Self-modulating technology
More storage space

Cons

Durability is not the best

Bottom Line

The EcoSmart ECO 11 Tankless Water Heater comes with a fast water flow rate. So if you have multiple faucets in your home, it can always be a good buy.

EcoSmart ECO 11 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 13KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology
1,233 Reviews
EcoSmart ECO 11 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 13KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology
  • Lifetime warranty
  • Save up to 60-percent on your water heating cost with an ECOSMART electric tankless water heater

Last update on 2020-08-04 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

5. EcoSmart 8 KW Electric Tankless Water Heater

While reviewing the product, I found that the EcoSmart 8 KW Tankless Water Heater comes with a highly durable product. Most of the interior components are made up of stainless steel and copper.

The one thing that attracted me the most about the EcoSmart 8 KW Electric Tankless Water Heater is the easy to use option. Because of this, I could easily adjust the thermostat and check the digital display.

Apart from this, the most impressive feature of the product is the on-demand hot water service. Though it includes a 3-second time delay for safety, it can provide limitless hot water.

The EcoSmart 8 KW Tankless Water Heater has a decent activation flow rate of 0.3 GPM. However, the max flow rate is around 1.5 GPM providing you water for multiple appliances.

Specifications

Flow Rate – 1.5 GPM
Dimensions: 12 x 9.5 x 4 inches
Weight: 4.75 pounds
Warranty: Limited Lifetime

Pros

Highly durable
Easy to use
Hot water on-demand

Cons

Includes a time delay

Bottom Line

If you are looking for easy installation, the EcoSmart 8 KW Tankless Water Heater can be a great buy for you. It has a lightweight body for easy mounting.

Sale
EcoSmart 8 KW Electric Tankless Water Heater, 8 KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology
206 Reviews

Last update on 2020-08-04 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

6. EcoSmart POU 3.5 Electric Tankless Water Heater

The EcoSmart POU 3.5 Tankless Water Heater comes with a reliable rate of flow. The product features 0.5 GPM for one sink. So if you gave smaller requirements, this can be a great buy.

While reviewing, I found that the best part of using the EcoSmart POU 3.5 Electric Tankless Water Heater was the installation. The product weighs only 4 pounds which is easy to carry. It also has a compact size.

The one thing that attracted me the most about the product is the digital display option. There is no remote, but you can easily reach out to the adjustable thermostat. It is easy to adjust and alter the settings.

Specifications

Flow Rate – 0.5 GPM
Dimensions: 3 x 11 x 6 inches
Weight: 4 Pounds
Warranty: 1 Year

Pros

Digital display
Copper and stainless steel
Compact size

Cons

Not for multiple faucets

Bottom Line

If you are looking for a point of use heater with a fast flow rate, the EcoSmart POU 3.5 Tankless Water Heater can be a reliable option for you to choose.

Sale
Ecosmart POU 3.5 Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater, 3.5KW@120-Volt
284 Reviews
Ecosmart POU 3.5 Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater, 3.5KW@120-Volt
  • Can provide hot water for one sink at 0.5 GPM in warmer climates
  • Requires 1 x 30 amp breaker and 10 AWG wire

Last update on 2020-08-08 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

7. EcoSmart POU 6 Electric Tankless Water Heater

<

The one thing that I liked the most about the EcoSmart POU 6 Tankless Water Heater is the 0.5GPM aerator. I found that the product can deliver more than 1 GPM of hot water when the demand is more.

Apart from this, I found that the Eco POU 6 Tankless Hot Water Heater comes with a compact size. The dimensions are around 5 x 12.8 x 8 inches that allowed me to install it almost anywhere.

But the most interesting part of the POU 6 EcoSmart Electric Tankless Water Heater is the complete lightweight and silent operation. I could easily mount the product and because of the silent operation, the workflow always remained smooth.

Specifications

Flow Rate – 0.5 GPM
Dimensions: 5 x 12.8 x 8 inches
Weight: 1 Pound
Warranty: 1 Year

Pros

Light in weight
Easy to install
Compact size

Cons

It is a bit slow

Bottom Line

If you require an under the sink heater for your dishwasher or other purposes, the EcoSmart POU 6 Tankless Water Heater is a great product to choose from.

Ecosmart POU 6 Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater, 6 KW,White,1/20, 1/40, 1/95
284 Reviews
Ecosmart POU 6 Point of Use Electric Tankless Water Heater, 6 KW,White,1/20, 1/40, 1/95
  • Can provide hot water for one sink at 0.5 GPM in warmer climates
  • Requires 1 x 30 amp breaker and 10 AWG wire

Last update on 2020-08-04 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

8. EcoSmart Eco 8 Green Energy Tankless Water Heater

The EcoSmart Eco 8 Green Energy Tankless Water Heater includes a completely new technology that saves up the energy. Because of the mechanism, it is almost 99% energy efficient and also safe to use.

The product includes a self-modulating technology. So it only starts heating when the product senses a flow. Because of this, the EcoSmart Eco 8 Green Energy Tankless Hot Water Heater can save 60% of the energy.

Apart from this, I found that the EcoSmart Eco 8 Green Energy Tankless Water Heater is easy to install. Since it has no tank, the product weighs only 4.75 pounds and the dimensions are 9.8 x 6.5 x 14 inches.

Specifications

Flow Rate – 0.25 GPM
Dimensions: 9.8 x 6.5 x 14 inches
Weight: 4.75 Pounds
Warranty: 1 Year

Pros

Light in weight
Easy to install
Compact size

Cons

Not for longer use

Bottom Line

If you want to save up the energy and go green, the EcoSmart Eco 8 Green Energy Tankless Water Heater is one such product for you to buy.

ECOSMART GREEN ENERGY PROD ECO 8 Water Heaters
  • An Unlimited Flow Of Hot Water Without The Wait Or Worry Of Ever Running Out
  • Save Up To 60% On Your Water Heating Cost With An Thermoflow Electric Tankless Water Heater

Last update on 2020-08-04 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

9. EcoSmart POU 4T Electric Tankless Water Heater

The EcoSmart POU 4T Tankless Water Heater has a compact body and a decent design. Moreover, the product is light in weight. So when I tried to install the product, it took me only 10 minutes.

While reviewing the product, I found that the EcoSmart POU 4T Electric Tankless Water Heater has a 0.6 GPM. Considering a point-of-use model, it seemed to be coming up with a decent rate of flow.

The one thing that I liked the most about the product is low energy consumption. It only heats the water when there is a flow. So this allowed saving up 60% of the electricity bills. For short usage, it is a great purchase.

Specifications

Flow Rate – 0.6 GPM
Dimensions: 7 x 11 x 13 inches
Weight: 4.4 Pounds
Warranty: 1 Year

Pros

Easy to install
Decent rate of flow
Consumes low energy

Cons

It requires more maintenance

Bottom Line

The EcoSmart POU 4T Tankless Water Heater is a decent choice to opt for if you want a heater bearing the budget and for short time use.

Sale
Ecosmart ECO 18 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 18 KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
2,132 Reviews

Last update on 2020-08-08 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Buying Guide: Factors to Consider While Buying EcoSmart Tankless Water Heaters

If you are still confused and do not know which one to choose from the top 9 models available, don’t worry. Yes! I have compiled a buying guide of factors to consider before buying an Eco tankless water heater. Going through these factors will help you make a good decision.

1. Purpose

First thing first, you need to decide how many showers and sinks you will be running. Getting the purpose clear is the most important factor before purchasing a tankless water heater. If you have a bigger house, I suggest you opt for the bigger models. And in case, if you stay in a smaller one, I would suggest you choose the EcoSmart ECO 11 Tankless Water Heater.  And if you are thinking of using the heater in your office to run a sink, I would suggest you choose EcoSmart POU 6 Tankless Water Heater as they are small enough to fit your office sink.

2. Water Flow Rate

A major factor that you should look in a tankless water heater before you buy is the water flow rate. Knowing the water flow rate will help you understand whether it will satisfy your needs or not. Moreover, the higher the flow rate is the more sinks and showers you can run on it.

As per my knowledge, I think we normally need a minimum of 2 GPM for a shower and 1 GPM for the sink. In the ECO range, you will find several flow rates starting from 1.5 gallons per minute to 6 gallons per minute.

3. Temperature Rise

The rise in temperature depends on the water’s inlet temperature and can affect the device’s GPM. For example, an Eco 8 can give you 1.5 GPM water to 105 degrees F from 67 degrees F. But in case, the temperature of the inlet is colder, the graph of GPM will go down drastically.

4. Temperature Control

The Eco water heaters come with digital temperature control that allows you to set the temperature as per your needs. But, in the POU models, the flow of the temperature is controlled as it depends on the flow rate. If you have bigger homes, you may want controlled temperatures and I suggest you opt for any Eco model.

5. Location

Another factor that usually a consumer must look at while buying a tankless water heater is the location. Yes! I suggest you consider your location where you want to place the product since the inlet temperature depends highly on the location.

Usually, models that can run 4 sinks and a shower in hot temperature can run only 1 shower and 1 sink in cold temperature. Thus, I would suggest you buy the higher model or you can install individual POU heaters.

6. Energy Rating And Efficiency

Now that you have a plan to buy a tankless water heater, chances are that you want to save on energy. EcoSmart water heaters come in a wide range of energy ratings starting from 8 kW to 36 kW.

But, I would suggest you opt for a model that has self-modulating technology. It delivers only the required amount of energy to increase efficiency to 0.9. As a result, it saves energy and cut back on the electricity bills. 

Sale
Ecosmart ECO 18 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 18 KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
2,132 Reviews

Last update on 2020-08-08 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Why Should You Use an EcoSmart Tankless Hot Water Heater?

Now after reading the factors and go in through the products, you might wonder why to buy an EcoSmart water heater only and why not any regular one. Well! Let me tell you the benefits then:

1. Space Saving

The tankless water heaters mean no tanks at all and thus, it allows you to install it anywhere you want. Even the largest model of EcoSmart water heater has a dimension of only 17 x 19 x 3.8 inches. In fact, the POU models are way smaller than the rest. As a result, you can fit them under the sinks.

2. Continuous Water Supply

Another distinct benefit of having a tankless water heater is that it gives you a continuous water supply. There is no requirement to wait for the water to get heated and nor you have to look out for when all the hot water runs out. Having this will let you get hot water whenever you require resulting in 99.98% thermal efficiency.

3. Saves Energy

All of these water heaters are usually tankless and thus the process of heating the water takes place when the water passes through it. On the other hand, the heater with a tank requires much more energy to heat the water.

Moreover, I found that most of these eco series come with self-modulating technology to adjust the power as per your needs. This further saves around 50% of the total cost.

4. Warranty

I found that almost all the EcoSmart water heaters have 12 years of warranty on the heater exchanger. But the lifetime warranty on heating elements, electric water heaters in the Eco series attracts me the most.

On the other hand, I found that you will get a year warranty in the POU series. Eco and gas models come with 5 years of warranty in the general parts and 1-year labour warranty.

5. Safe And Reliable

When you think of buying a water heater, one thing that should come to your mind before investing is reliability. Well! Let me tell you that all the EcoSmart hot water heaters are great at saving energy. And to my amazement, some of the best heaters further reduce the footprint of carbon.

This is because of no combustion products on gas models are found. They are smaller than the usual tank heater as a result when they break, minimum waste goes into the landfills. Moreover, most of the components are replaceable.

The tankless water heaters usually last longer than the ones with the tank, around 20 years. And they come with a lifetime warranty.

But the best thing according to me is that there is no headache of tank leakage, corrosion or rupture, no anode rod issues, and neither any rotten egg smell. Thus, you can go for any product mentioned above as all are safe and reliable.

6. Customer Service

I was researching Eco water heaters and found that most of the consumers report getting amazing customer care support. And when I got my hands on them, I found they were telling the truth. Although, I have rarely faced issues with the products, whenever I had, the customer care people were always ready to solve my queries.

7. Installation

Usually, it is easy to install an electric tankless water heater and one can do it on their own. However, I would suggest you get the help of an expert to maintain the EcoSmart warranty.

So you will not have any headache in case the installation is not done properly or if any case of manufacturing defects occur, you have the warranty to show the company.

However, the process of tankless water heater installation by the expert is quite fast and it will assure you that your heater is set up correctly.

Sale
Ecosmart ECO 18 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 18 KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
2,132 Reviews

Last update on 2020-08-08 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. Can I change the Temperature without the Remote?

A1. Yes, you can. You don’t need to require a remote every time you want to change the settings. EcoSmart always offers you an adjustable thermostat with the products. You can find the dial on top of the heater or the sides. Just rotate it clock-wise or counter clock-wise to change the temperature.

Q2. Do I need a high circuit breaker for safety?

A2. If you have a close look at the features of the EcoSmart models, you will find that most of them already include over-heat protection. So even if there is a short circuit, it will not damage the product. But for the safety concerns, you can pick up a 30 Amp breaker or a 40 Amp breaker.

Q3. Why is the EcoSmart Water Heater not providing enough speed?

A3. There may be several reasons why your EcoSmart hot water heater is not providing you enough speed as it used to be in the beginning. The most common reason is the lack of maintenance. Consider opting for a complete flush to ensure that the contaminants are removed. If you live in a locality with hard water, such issues will be common.

Sale
Ecosmart ECO 18 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 18 KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
2,132 Reviews

Last update on 2020-08-08 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Conclusion

So after going through the entire buying guide and the in-depth Ecosmart tankless water heater reviews, I believe that it will be much easier for you to choose. EcoSmart is a renowned brand and most of their products are great for your regular uses. Still, if you are having problems while choosing, you can also choose other products available from Amazon.

If you have purchased any one of the players mentioned above, you can always drop your experience in the comments below. You can always drop your comments below about the experience that you have regarding the heaters mentioned above.

Sale
Ecosmart ECO 18 Electric Tankless Water Heater, 18 KW at 240 Volts with Patented Self Modulating Technology,White
2,132 Reviews

Last update on 2020-08-08 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Editor’s Choice

While creating the review, a lot of products came to my mind and it was always difficult to choose the best one. However, certain features allow a product to stay at the top and become effective.

I have featured 3 heaters below and a short comparison for you to choose the best available product. You can also choose the other products available on the list if you want. 

The EcoSmart ECO 18 Tankless Water Heater includes a 1.5 GPM that seems to be a great fit for any home-usage. I found this product to be slightly lighter in weight and around 14 pounds. So installing this heater was the easiest part of all. In fact, I could always use the product for 2-3 showers at the same time and also to other appliances. So for my uses, the EcoSmart 18 Tankless Water Heater seems to be a nice buy and it gets the job done.

Another product that I liked the most is the EcoSmart ECO 27 Tankless Water Heater. The product comes with a decent flow rate so that you may not have to wait long. Because of the instant delivery, the hot water starts to flow out of the heater without any delay. Comparing the weight, the product has 11 pounds. So it is never a heavy to lift. But the one thing that I liked about the product is the slim dimensions which make it easy to install.

The EcoSmart ECO 36 Tankless Water Heater is another product that has attracted me the most. While reviewing, I found that the product has a decent 0.3 GOPM activation flow rate. Because of this, it was quite efficient for me to use the product at any regular place. Moreover, it has a higher weight as compared to other products. The weight of the EcoSmart ECO 36 Tankless Water Heater is around 18.35 pounds but the dimensions are slim and never eat up bigger space.